Ministry announces 268 new infections

Ministry announces 268 new infections

Health Chief Administrative Secretary Dr.Rashid Aman | Courtesy of Ministry of Health

2 July, 2020

Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS), Dr. Rashid Aman has today announced that 268 people have tested positive for Covid-19 from a sample of 2,704 tested in the past 24 hours raising number of infections in the country to 6,941. From This number, 259 are Kenyans with 9 foreigners all aged between 1 year old and 80 years old. Males are 160 with 108 being females.

County distribution of the cases is; Nairobi 175, Mombasa 28, Busia 18, Kiambu 11, Kajiado 9, Migori 9, Uasin Gishu 8, Machakos 6, Narok 2, Makueni 1 and Muranga 1.

In Nairobi, 34 are from Dagoretti North, Kibra 29, Ruaraka 24, Langata 21, Embakasi East 12, Westlands 11, Makadara 10, Starehe 7, Kasarani 6, Embakasi South and West 5 each, Embakasi Central 3,Embakasi North 2, Kamukunji 2, Mathare 2 and Roysambu 2. In Mombasa, 12 are from Kisauni, 6 from Mvita, 4 from Jomvu, 3 from Nyali, 2 from Changamwe and 1 from Likoni.

In Busia, 12 are from Teso South, 5 from Teso North and 1 from Matayos. In Kiambu, 7 are from Kiambu Town, 2 from Ruiru with Juja and Thika having 1 case each. In Kajiado, 6 are from Kajiado North, 2 from Kajiado East and 1 from Loitoktok. In Migori, Kuria East, Kuria West and Suna each have 3 cases. In Uasin Gishu, Ainabkoi and Turbo have 3 cases with 2 from Kapseret. In Machakos, 5 are from Athi River and 1 from Machakos Town.

All cases in Narok are from Narok North, Makueni’s case is from Kibwezi West and Muranga’s case is from Maragua.

He also reported that 20 patients have been discharged from various hospitals bringing to 2,109 total number of recoveries in the country. 3 more people succumbed to the disease raising fatalities to 152.

For self quarantine guidelines, click here:

SelfQuarantine Guidelines