Ministry announces 121 new cases of Covid-19

Ministry announces 121 new cases of Covid-19

Cabinet Secretary for Health (CS), Mutahi Kagwe | Courtesy of Ministry of Health








11 June, 2020

The Chief Secretary for Health, Hon Mutahi Kagwe has today announced 121 new infections of Covid-19 in the country from a total of 3,291 samples tested in the last 24 hours. The national tally now stands at 3,215 from 106,247 samples tested.

From today’s cases, 115 are Kenyan Nationals and 6 foreigners with 92 of them being males and 29 females. The age range for the new cases is 4months old for the youngest and 86 years for the oldest.

The cases are distributed in Nirobi with 49, Busia 37, Mombasa 20, Kajiado 5, Migori 4, Kiambu 2, Kilifi 2 while Muranga and Nyeri each have 1 case.  The areas affected in Nairobi are; Kibra 18, Westlands 9, Kamukunji 4, Ruaka 4, Dagoretti North 3, Embakasi Central 2, Embakasi West 2, Lang’ata 2 and Embakasi South, Roysambu, Kasarani, Makadara and Starehe each having 1 case. In Busia, all cases are truck drivers at Malaba border point while in Mombasa, Likoni has 7 cases, Mvita 5, Kisauni 3, Jomvu 2, Changamwe 2 while Nyali has 1 case.

In Kajiado, 3 cases are form Kajiado East and 2 from kajiado Central. In Migori, 2 are from Suna East and 1 each from Kuria West and Kuria East. In Kiambu, Ruiru and Kiambu Town each have 1 case. The cases in Kilifi are from Kilifi North, while in Muranga it’s from Kiharu and in Nyeri the case is from Nyeri Central.

The CS reported that 44 patients have recovered and been released from hospitals bringing recoveries to 1,092. He stated however that 3 more people have succumbed to the disease taking the number of fatalities to 92.