Curfew extended by 21 days

Curfew extended by 21 days

H.E President Uhuru Kenyatta | Courtesy of Ministry of Health

16 May, 2020

President Uhuru Kenyatta today announced that the nationwide curfew and cessation movement in Nairobi, Mombasa, Kwale,Kilifi and Mandera will be extended till 6th June with  Kenya-Somali and Kenya-Tanzania border being closed to persons and passengers except for cargo being ferried starting today midnight.

These measures, he said, was on the advice of the National Emergency Response Committee (NERC) on Corona virus which he had tasked with undertaking a close look at re-opening the Kenyan economy. Their findings, with regards to countries like Singapore, Germany and Ghana who had earlier contained the spread of the disease commendably when they eased their restrictions, they recorded huge spikes in new infections.

This he announced as he also disclosed that 49 new Covid-19 cases have been recorded in the last 24 hours bringing the total to 830.

He also noted that in the last week, it was observed that there was an increase in imported cases from people crossing over the borders and this has raised an alarm to the government. Of the positive cases registered in the last week, a total of 43 cases have been of individuals who came to the country from Tanzania and Somali and as of yesterday the distribution of those cases were in Wajir with 14, Isebania with 10, Namanga 16, Lungalunga 2 and Loitoktok 1.

In addition, 78 truck drivers who are foreign national had tested positive for the virus and denied entry to the country at different border crossings.