Cessation of movement in Eastleigh, Old Town extended

Cessation of movement in Eastleigh, Old Town extended

Health Cabinet Secretary (CS) Mutahi Kagwe | Courtesy of Ministry of Health

20 May, 2020

The Health CS, Hon. Mutahi Kagwe announced today that the National Emergency Response Committee has extended the cessation of movement in and out of Eastleigh, Nairobi and Old Town, Mombasa for a period of 21 days until 6th June 2020 with eateries, restaurants and malls also remaining closed.

He announced that in the last 24 hours, 66 new people turned positive for the virus from a total of 2,621 samples tested bringing the number of infections to 1,029. Of the 66, 64 are Kenyan Nationals, 1 a Somali National with the other a Rwandese with 43 of them being male and 23 female while the age distribution ranges from 10 years to 64 years.

The new cases are spread in Mombasa with 30, Nairobi 26, Kajiado 3 and Busia, Kisii, Uasin Gishu, Nakuru, Kirinyaga, Makueni and Meru each having 1 case.

In terms of distribution, Mombasa has 10 cases in Likoni, 8 in Kisauni and Changamwe, Nyali, Jomvu and Mvita each having 3 cases. Nairobi’s cases are distributed in Kibra with 15, Langata 3, Starehe 2 and Dagoretti, Westlands, Eastleigh, Mathare and Dandora each having 1 case.

The case in Makueni is at Emali, Kirinyaga at Kutus, Meru at Gitimbine, nakuru aat Naivasha , Uasin Gishu at Maili Nne, Kisii at Bobasi, Busia at entry point and kajiado’s cases are also at entry point.

The CS also announced 8 more people have recovered and been discharged from hospital bringing recoveries up to 366.