39 counties now affected with Nyamira recording first Covid-19 case

39 counties now affected with Nyamira recording first Covid-19 case

Health Cabinet Secretary (CS) Mutahi Kagwe at Othaya National Teaching and Referral Hospital | Courtesy of Ministry of Health

14 June, 2020

Nyamira has added to the list of affected counties when its first case was today recorded. The number of affected counties now stand at 39. This case was among a pool of 137 new confirmed cases recorded in the past 24 hours from a total of 3,594 samples tested. The national number now stands at 3,594.

All positive cases are Kenyans with 102 being males and 35 females. The age range is 1 year for the youngest and 82 for the oldest.

The counties affected are Nairobi with 92, Mombasa 16, Kajiado 15, Busia 4, Kiambu 4, with Kilifi, Nakuru, Nyamira, Uasin Gishu, Siaya and Muranga each recording 1 case each.

In Nairobi, the cases are in Mathare with 25 cases, Embakasi East 10, Kibra and Westlands 9 each, Langa’ata 8, Ruaraka 6, Dagoretti North 5, Embakasi South, Kasarani and Makadara 4 cases each, Embakasi West and Kamukunji 3 cases each and Roysambu and Starehe 1 case each.

In Mombasa, Kisauni has 6 cases, Changamwe and Mvita 3 each, Nyali and Likoni 2 cases each. In Kajiado, 7 are from Loitoktok, 6 from Kajiado Central and 1 each from Kajiado East and Kajiado North. All cases from Busia are truck drivers from Malaba point of entry.

Kiambu’s cases are from Kiambaa with 2 and Kiambu North with 2. Kilifi’s case is from Kaloleni, Nakuru’s from Naivasha and Nyamira’s from Nyamira South. The case in Uasin Gishu is a truck driver from Turbo with the Siaya case being from Alego Usonga. Muranga’s case is from Maragwa.

The Health CS also announced that 32 people have been discharged from various hospitals bringing number of recoveries to 1,253. 3 more people have however lost their lives to the disease bringing number of deaths to 103.